And change comes with the seasons….

Hello all…it’s been a long time since I have written and for that I apologize.  I have received so many heartfelt messages from so many people that are struggling through their own situations with skin cancer, and because I have been caught up in work and life and everything else, I failed to read your comments.  Please know that I am praying for each and everyone of you that you had or will have a speedy recovery and that your body will soon be healed.

I too have been still battling the dreadful C word.  While, I have not had anymore surgeries, a recent trip to the dermatology department of MD Anderson, found me facing 19 lesions.  All considered to be skin cancer, most likely basal cells.  I was offered a clinical trial that involved taking a new drug, Erivedge.  I declined it however, due to some rather disturbing side effects, which included loss of hair but more importantly to me the loss of taste…I AM A FOODIE!  That is not something I am ready to sacrifice.  Instead, the doctor and I discussed another option, one much less invasive.  I am to use Tazorac on the lesions as often as possible.  The idea is that the sonic hedgehogs…(insert video game hedgehog rolling over balls) would block the pathways of the cancer cells and cause a reversal.  I was warned that it would be painful, as blisters would form and skin peeling was possible.  Well, I laughed and said ANYTHING was better than surgery…I proceeded to slather myself in the stuff!  Needless to say, I have stopped taking it for the past few weeks now, once my chest broke out in blisters and my forehead peeled off, I thought it may be a good idea to give myself a break, the doctor definitely wasn’t kidding!  I do feel that it is working though.  Now that the blisters have healed, some of the spots on my chest are barely noticeable and there has been no itching or pain for several days.  So maybe that is a good sign?!

Many have asked how I have healed, it’s been approximately 8 months since my last MOHS surgery on my face.  The scar has healed amazingly.  There occasionally is some itching or some numbness, especially around my lip, but for the most part, it is not noticeable.  Unless I point it out, many of my new airbrush tanning clients don’t even see it.  I have continued to speak out against tanning bed salons and try and educate my clients on the importance of sun safety.  My journey is far from over.

Here is a recent picture taken of me a few weeks ago, of course I am wearing makeup, but as you can see…the scar is barely noticeable.  So if you are currently healing or about to have to face surgery…have faith that it isn’t as bad an it initially seems!

This blog is now being converted to cover many other topics.  I will continue to promote skin cancer awareness, but I will also be posting recipes, family issues and of course my favorite…the latest and greatest fashion finds for myself and my family!  xoxo, Kim

kim

3 thoughts on “And change comes with the seasons….

  1. Pingback: And change comes with the seasons…. | Here Comes the Sun, and I Say It's Alright

  2. Wow, you are a true beauty. I found your sight looking for younger (well I’m 36) women who have had MOH’s/before and after pics. It seems the only pics I see online are of much older women (not that they don’t matter) with some fairly scary open wounds after their surgeries. Thank you for your posts. I have an appt. at the end of March for my MOH’s after years of a forehead area giving me issues. I already tried Aldara and we aren’t sure if this is a new lesion or it was still there after the treatment. I am just kind of freaking out that more of these nasty BCC’s will start popping up all over my face. It’s my fault for being a fair skinned sun goddess and skin cancer bed user…Argh! I guess I have to be thankful it is not deadly and get over the Frankenstein scar I may have afterwards!

  3. You should come to Bali (Indonesia) where I live and raise awareness about skin cancer to the masses of tourists here who lie on the beach from dawn til dusk trying to get as deep a tan as possible which they think makes them look healthy and sexy. I am 44 now, had my skin cancer for several years and my surgeon said it was probably too many holidays in SE Asia in the 1990’s having fun on beaches in Thailand, Malaysia and India. Bali is a tropical island with almost perpetual sun but these days I avoid the strong direct sun at all costs. Just go for a jog on the beach early morning or watch the sunset there in the evening. It hasn’t spoiled my quality of life. The sad thing is that people look at you like some kind of nerd or moron when you raise the dangers of skin cancer from sunbathing to them. Now I just stay quiet. My doctor said the ever growing tourist industry/beach holidays with people’s obsession with a suntan will keep him in business for the rest of his life! Incidentally, the Indonesians have a different take on all this – they deliberately avoid the sun because in their culture ‘white’ is seen as beautiful and sophisticated while a ‘dark’ skin has negative connotations of being poor, uneducated, backward (connections with employment and how the unskilled and unsavoury traditionally could only find job as manual workers out of doors (e.g. in the rice fields) where the skin becomes progressively darker and more leathery.

Leave a Reply

